Last Updated: 03/25/17 08:57 AM

Home  About Us  Points  Results  News  Schedule All Time 1934-201644
Rules Point System Facebook Twitter Links All Division II Pages ONMDOTY 99'-2016

      The National Midget Driver of the Year Award started in 1999. The award determines the top midget driver using a unique point system. The point system is based on several factors, car count, purse, and event prestige. Beginning in 2001 we also honored the top chassis and engine manufacturer.  In 2002 we added crowning the top National Midget Rookie of the Year. Car Owner points were recorded for the first time in 2007. In 2013 the Western Midget Driver of the Year was introduced using a similar point system.
      The award was founded, and is directed by
Bryan Gapinski. Bryan is a well known midget racing publicist and announcer. He has been the Badger Midget Media Director since 1988. His announcing duties have been nationwide, including such events as the Belleville Midget Nationals, Hut 100 and Chili Bowl. He has also done TV commentary for Fox Sports and Speedvision. He is a former car owner and past product manager of National Halibrand. He also writes a column which appears in National Speed Sport News.
       In 2007, the NMDOTY posted the fourth largest cash point fund payoff in midget auto racing. Listed below are results from the past four seasons.  

The Numbers
179 157 156 178
118/61 123/34 114/42 151/27
493 458 502 506
Christopher Bell /1508 Christopher Bell /1631 Tanner Thorson /1232 Tanner Thorson /1434
ROOKIE OF THE YEAR Tanner Thorson Spencer Bayston Kyle Schuett Carson Macedo
CHASSIS CHAMP  Spike Spike Spike Spike
ENGINE CHAMP Esslinger Esslinger Esslinger Esslinger
Ronnie Gardner /14 Bell /16 Abreu & Bell /8 Thorson /16
 Andrew Felker/53   Zach Daum/45   Bayston/42   Bayston & Thorson /50

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions or comments about the 

National Midget Driver of the Year Award.

Bryan Gapinski 

The National Midget Driver of the Year Award is a registered trademark under usage to Gapinski Racing Enterprises. The  following words, and logos are copyrighted and can not be reproduced or used for any profitable means / or means to confuse the general public: National Midget Auto Racing Driver of the Year, National Midget Driver of the Year, National Midget Driver of the Year Championship, National Midget Manufacturer of the Year, National Midget Rookie of the Year, National Midget Car Owner of the Year, Western Midget Driver of the Year, Division II Miget Driver of the Year and their respective logos, without the express written consent  of Gapinski Racing Enterprises, Gapinski Enterprises, and/or Bryan Gapinski.


                              Copyright © 2000 Gapinski Racing Enterprises. All Rights Reserved.

Follow Us on Facebook Twitter